life isn’t a support system for art

It starts with this: put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around. — Stephen King

The above quote is one I return to again and again.

To remind myself that writing isn’t life but just a way to express it.

A way to recreate life into words.

To describe those indescribable moments captured in the individual words of a sentence.

To relive breaths that I wasn’t conscious about.

To observe the emotions of others that I ignored.

To tune into my own feelings.

 

Because if I sat all day on my computer to write perhaps I would have nothing to write about.

Internet would definitely compel me otherwise.

And a blank page would forever remain blank.

So I look at this quote again and again to remind myself to live my life.

Live for writing.

 

 

Day 3 – 365 Days of Writing prompt: Quote me

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?


Leave a comment