The Knots in My Wings

Yes, I’m free to roam, free to soak up the sun

But I’m not free to fly as my wings have been tied

 

My short feet carry me to places not too distant

My imagination takes me to the unimaginable corners of the world

 

But what about my heart?

It wants to fly,

It wants to see the world from the top.

If only someone would untie the knots in my wings

 

But the world does not see my heart

It does not understand my desires

It sees only my luck, my accomplishments, and my future

 

Why is it that though I’ve got what others want, I want what others have?

My heart yearns to break free from the knots I’ve been put in

But no one wants to help me escape

They just want me to follow my predestined path but I want to fly

Far far away towards the sun

 

 

I wrote this poem a long time ago but thought I’d post it for WordPress’ Writing 101 (Poetry) topic: Freedom.

6 thoughts on “The Knots in My Wings

  1. Beautifully expressed!
    These lines speak for many people, I think:
    “Why is it that though I’ve got what others want, I want what others have?
    My heart yearns to break free from the knots I’ve been put in
    But no one wants to help me escape
    They just want me to follow my predestined path but I want to fly
    Far far away towards the sun.”

    My response to the “no one wants to help me escape,” is that people aren’t thinking about your freedom or mine, but mostly about theirs (unless they are the truly selfless humanitarians among us). So, in the end, it’s up to US to break free from those knots, don’t you think?

    Fly free!
    🙂

    Like

  2. The take away really is “Why is it that though I’ve got what others want, I want what others have?”. I too have been wondering for long: Why we don’t want what we have and want what we don’t have? If we simply reverse, will not life be too simple.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

