Finally Living My Life After Starting To Write

I waited for inspiration long and hard and never wrote anything. This period lasted for years  until I decided to sign up for WordPress’ Writing 101 course. I wrote poetry before that which I shared with no one but life filled up these pockets of time with everything else but writing.

So what did I do then?

I went to school. I studied. I looked for work. I worked at work. And did all those things the world wanted me to do. Except write.

I did not need to write to put food in my mouth nor a shelter over my head. So it took a back seat to life.

It starts with this: put your desk in the corner, and every time you sit down there to write, remind yourself why it isn’t in the middle of the room. Life isn’t a support system for art. It’s the other way around. — Stephen King

Through today’s topic I’ve read most people write that life shouldn’t take a back seat to writing. It’s made me feel better about the time loss but I have yet to experience this myself. I am sure I will get to because I believe it. There can be no richer words than those from life’s pages. Imagination of course is a necessity too but it needs to feed on the food that is life.

So while I’m spending more and more time writing these days, using Writing 101’s momentum, I am also living my life. And the biggest part of living is paying attention. Being aware. Experiencing the subtleties of life, noticing each moment, and capturing it all in my mind. The itch to write more and more has made me a deeper observer and you could say I’m finally living my life.

This post is written for WordPress’ Writing 101 topic: writing and not writing.


3 thoughts on “Finally Living My Life After Starting To Write

  1. The balance between writing and living is something I can struggle with at times. Sometimes all I want to do is write 24/7 so I have to remember there are other things like people – hehe!

    Like

  2. You make a great point about becoming an observer. I’ve noticed this about myself as well – when we write from our life we learn to kind of notice each moment and reflect, don’t we? I love that writing does this for me. Thanks for sharing! Glad you found inspiration/life for yourself 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment