Vulnerability

The concept of a Bucket List still reminds me of the movie A Walk to Remember. I used to think that doing things like “being in two places at once” was only for those who knew they were dying. Why else would you create a list of things to do before you die? I was going to live forever I thought!

As I got older, I realized that life moves fast; it’s already been 10+ years since I watched the film. And now as I reflect on those years I wonder if I have done all the things I have wanted to. The answer that comes to mind is “I don’t know”. I never really kept an official bucket list that I would visit often and cross off all the things I had proudly completed.

But here’s what I have done so far: travelled alone, gone camping, seen 3 out of the 7 wonders of the world (4 if you include Leaning Tower of Pisa), attended a family Indian wedding, danced all night, sung my heart out at karaoke, started a blog, and probably some more that I can’t think of at the moment.

The prompt for Day 3 has forced me to really think about my bucket list and talk about the 11th item on it. 11th?! I’ve only got 3 so far :(.

So I’ll tell you about the first one: improv.

Why improv?

Because it makes me scared as shit! It’s the same fear that I feel from heights but a little less than those inflicted upon me by lizards. Having been born as a very shy kid, improv really freaks me out. When the lines are given to you it’s easier to be in front of an audience. But when you have to come up with a story right in the moment, it’s a whole other ball game. And if you succeed, it gives you a boost of confidence like no other.

Moreover, it renders you vulnerable. A kind of vulnerability that is hard to find in any other situation. You must shed all inhibitions and focus solely on the moment at hand. There is no room for hesitation, just action. Forget yourself and your self consciousness.

My first encounter with improv was in my high school drama class (looking back, I don’t even know how I chose drama as a course!). I wasn’t as terrible at it as I thought I would be so I want to do it again. Open myself up to experiences of a different kind and see where it takes me.

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list? I’d love to know!

 

 

Day 3 – 365 Days of Writing prompt: Kick It

What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

Leave a Reply

