freedom in private

the place to hide is in my heart

where I weep, where I love, where I ponder

it is not for you to see

nor for you to know of

because I will break from your judgement

and your look of despair

so let me hide in my heart

let me be free

don’t ask me to show myself

don’t ask me to come to thee

I shatter when I come close to you

from the high pitches of your voice

so I prefer to stay safe in my hideout

free from all other choice

I’d rather brood in private

where my tears will only be for me

I cannot share my pleasures

nor my pains with thee

Leave a Reply

