Why I Don’t Read the News

Screen Shot 2016-01-14 at 8.18.10 PMScreen Shot 2016-01-14 at 8.18.33 PM

Do you notice a pattern above? Are you seeing what I’m seeing?

Call me pessimistic but I’m just reading negativity. What’s worse is when you start your day off with that negativity. I already know how horrible and unfair the world is, do I need to be constantly reminded of that?

I say no more. I don’t want this in my life anymore.

I am going to choose to live in my own bubble. Cherish the fact that so many strangers and not-so-strangers are nice to me. Enjoy the little things in life like sunshine. Be oblivious to the murders around my building so I don’t live in fear.

I know I sound like a privileged brat and maybe I am. But it gets hard to appreciate life when you are constantly fed the worst of life. When all you can think of is how privileged you are and that you probably don’t deserve it all. When you see images of sad eyes and can’t help but feel helpless.

Of course this doesn’t mean I am choosing to be ignorant. No, that’s not what is happening here. I’m choosing to be empathetic through books which give me a deeper insight into someone else’s life. I’m choosing to reject the sensationalization of someone’s story that is usually only serving the media networks. I am choosing to understand the complexities and nuances of others in the world without being bombarded with tens of thousands of stories that only feed me negativity.

I am choosing no news. How about you?

 

P.S. “studies show that the news consists of negative to positive stories by a ratio of 17:1” – Brett and Kate McKay

One thought on “Why I Don’t Read the News

Leave a Reply

