First World Romance

The movies, the songs

I have seen them all

But I didn’t know that, that isn’t what love is about

 

I dreamt of what it would be like

A stroll in the park

Or a dinner in the candle light

 

Yet when it happened

It happened not like that

 

We didn’t need to stare out at the stars

Nor did we need big romantic gestures

 

A short smiley made me smile

A “sweet dreams” made me feel loved

 

Waking up to your text made my day

And our picture on Facebook filled me up

 

We live the first world romance

Where being apart, we are still together

 

 

This post is written for WordPress’ Writing 101 (Poetry) topic: Beloved.

2 thoughts on “First World Romance

Leave a Reply

