100-word Story: Birthday Dunkin’

The happy-go-lucky child in me shrieked with excitement for my 7th birthday. I put on my favourite purple dress and decorated my hair. I was excited for the cake but more for the attention.

My zeal increased on our way to the restaurant as I ran around in the pitch darkness of the night. I ran with all my might and zig zagged to my heart’s content. I ran to show the world my 7 year-old self.

Until I made a splash in the big dirty mud patch.

All attention on me as I stood wrapped in my mother’s scarf.

This post is written for WordPress’ Writing 101 topic: word count.

Leave a Reply

