Writing Between Letters

My writing spot is one where I’ve done everything! I’ve cried my eyes out, I’ve danced like mad, and I’ve sat staring into nothingness for long periods of time. I’ve felt such a range of emotions that cannot ever be described but the walls of my room have been there as witness.

I’ve decorated and redecorated it at least 5 times in the past 10 years. Moving my bed from one wall to the next. My desk sometimes facing the window, sometimes a wall. But I have never sat at my desk to write.

Often I would plop onto my bed with my laptop on my legs, feeling the burn of it on my thighs. Or I would sit in my chair with my feet on the bed, welcoming the burn.

But now I’ve welcomed a new little piece of furniture into my woman-cave, my blue bean bag. Against the wall or just flat on the ground, I love smashing myself into it and taking whatever shape it would give me. Laptop propped up and fingers typing away furiously. That’s how I write.

But my true space is in between the words, not in the four walls of my room. Getting lost and absorbed as if part of a page; acting out the scenes in my head; playing every character; feeling every emotion. I blur myself out and become the words as they appear on the screen.
That is the space I really write in – between each letter and between each word.

This post is written for WordPress’ Writing 101 topic: the space to write.

I would love to hear your thoughts on what I should write; please leave a comment here. I’m passionate about technology, wellness, fitness, and foood!

Leave a Reply

